Prof. Dr.-Ing./Univ. Tokio Martin Buss





Professor Buss studied electrical engineering at TH Darmstadt and was awarded a doctorate at the University of Tokyo (1994). In 2000, he completed his lecturer qualification at TUM and was appointed to the Chair of Control Systems at TU Berlin. He has been full professor of control technology at TUM since 2003.

Professor Buss researches methods in control and system theory, in particular hybrid (discrete/continuous), switching, nonlinear dynamic systems for use in mechatronics, robotics, medical technology, communication technology, telepresence systems, teleaction systems and man-machine systems.


  • Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande (2011)
  • ICMA 2009 – Toshio Fukuda Best Paper Award in Mechatronics (2009)
  • Shakey – Most Innovative Video Award“, (2009)
  • Best Journal Paper Award, at–Automatisierungstechnik (2006)
  • Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award, American Control Conference (ACC) (2001)


  1. Li, Cong; Wang, Yongchao; Liu, Fangzhou; Liu, Qingchen; Buss, Martin: Model-free Incremental Adaptive Dynamic Programming based Approximate Robust Optimal Regulation. International Journal of Robust and Nonlinear Control 32 (5), 2022, 2662-2682.
  2. Liu, Tong; Buss, Martin: Model Reference Adaptive Control of Piecewise Affine Systems with State Tracking Performance Guarantee. International Journal of Robust and Nonlinear Control 32 (7), 2022, 4129-4148.
  3. Du, Yingwei; Liu, Fangzhou; Qiu, Jianbin; Buss, Martin: A Novel Recursive Approach for Online Identification of Continuous-Time Switched Nonlinear Systems. International Journal of Robust and Nonlinear Control 31 (15), 2021, 7546-7565.
  4. Liu, Tong; Buss, Martin: Output Feedback Model Reference Adaptive Control of Piecewise Affine Systems with Parameter Convergence Analysis. IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control 67 (7), 2021, 3707-3714.
  5. Liu, Fangzhou; Cui, Shaoxuan; Mei, Wenjun; Dörfler, Florian; Buss, Martin: Interplay Between Homophily-Based Appraisal Dynamics and Influence-Based Opinion Dynamics: Modeling and Analysis. IEEE Control Systems Letters 5 (1), 2020, 181-186.
  6. Hirche S, Matiakis T, Buss M: “A distributed controller approach for delayindependent stability of networked control systems”. Automatica. 2009; 45 (8): 1828-1836.
  7. Strolz M, Mörtl A, Gräf M, Buss M: “Development, control, and evaluation of an actuated car door”. IEEE Transactions on Haptics. 2009; 2 (3): 170-180.
  8. Althoff M, Stursberg O, BussM: “Computing reachable sets of hybrid systems using a combination of zonotopes and polytopes”. Nonlinear Analysis: Hybrid Systems. 2009; 3: 233-249.
  9. Kuschel M, Kremer P, Buss M: “Passive haptic compression methods with perceptual coding for bilateral presence systems”. IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics (Part A: Systems and Humans). 2009; 39(6): 1142-1151.
  10.  Peer A, Buss M: “A new admittance-type haptic interface for bimanual manipulations”.IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics. 2008; 13 (4): 416-428.

© 2023 Technische Universität München Asia
German Institute of Science & Technology - TUM Asia Pte Ltd
CPE Reg. No. 200105229R | Registration Period 13.06.2017 - 12.06.2023

tum arrow up